We use the “How to Drive Online Program sponsored by AAA”.
Drive Masters will sign your student up for the online course. We have negotiated a more affordable price that is included with our complete package. Our complete package includes thirty(30) hours of the online class instruction and the six(6) one-hours drives that are required by the state of Indiana.
As our teens set out on their journey of independence they need a solid foundation of knowledge, skills and plans to reduce their risk behind the wheel. Quality driver education is a critical element in developing safe driving attitudes, improving hazard recognition and managing visibility, time and space in traffic.
AAA’s How to Drive Online delivers the rules and essential elements of safe driving in an interactive and innovative way. Approved in the state of Indiana for novice driver classroom education, this online program aims to ensure that safe driving habits are developed and maintained for life. AAA has been in the driver training business since 1935, so trust AAA to help keep the roads safe for all travelers.
Indiana State Requirements:
Students seeking Indiana driving privileges must be enrolled at a driver training school licensed by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles and must be at least 15 years of age to earn credit for completing online driver training.
According to Indiana state law, a driver education program consists of thirty (30) hours of classroom or online instruction AND six (6) hours of professional behind-the-wheel training with a state approved driver education provider.
This approved 30 hour course features:
- Convenient and self-paced delivery
- A virtual parent session designed to educate parents on the learning to drive process (Optional)
- 30-hour Online content satisfies all IN state requirements for novice classroom training
- The most up-to-date information from scientifically validated sources
- Innovative delivery including video, synchronous presentations, simulations and interactive exercises to enhance content retention
Prior to enrolling in any online course, potential drivers should contact the licensed driver training school where they have chosen to complete the required 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and ask which online programs the school will accept. If the school is a provider of the AAA How to Drive online program, the enrollee may receive a lower price by purchasing their entire combined online/behind-the-wheel package through the school instead of purchasing the online program separately. If the driving school is not a provider of the AAA How to Drive online program, this program can be purchased separately and that school should still accept it, but potential enrollees should confirm this in advance.
In this course, students will complete 40 different chapters broken down into 12 units of online instruction. Each chapter has a quiz that requires a student to pass at 80 percent before moving to the next unit. According to Indiana regulations, only three hours of online instruction (approximately 1 unit) can be completed in a calendar day. Once all the units are completed, students will have the opportunity to take three practice exams where they will be able to review their incorrect answers. Once the practice exams are completed, students will complete a final exam, of which they must achieve at least an 80 percent in order to pass. Students may move through the online class in as little as 10 days. Once the online course has been successfully completed and the final exam passed, a certificate of completion will be mailed to the student. The certificate must be presented to the driving school where the behind-the-wheel training will be completed.
What about the permit?
Students less than 16 years of age must enroll in both the classroom or online course AND the in-car instruction segment in order to receive the required Certified Driver Education (CDE) form to get a permit. They must contact the state approved driver education provider of their choice to determine when a CDE form will be issued. Applicants will likely be required to pay for their behind-the-wheel training before the CDE form is issued. Each school handles this differently. Once the school has issued the CDE form, it can be taken to the BMV with the other required documentation (mentioned within the first unit of the online course) in order to apply for a learner’s permit. As a reminder, students under the age of 16 years must obtain a CDE form from an approved driving school prior to applying for a permit.
All students will be required to pass the state written exam at a license branch in order to be issued a learner’s permit. This course, in addition to reviewing the Indiana Driver’s Manual, will help prepare them for that exam.
Your Trusted Partner
AAA has been America’s trusted partner for over 100 years when it comes to automobiles, so why go anywhere else for defensive driving? Our courses have been created for your utmost convenience, anytime, anywhere.
We use the “How to Drive Online Program sponsored by AAA.
Helpful links to find out more about the AAA sponsored “How to Drive Online Program”: www.aaa.com/howtodrive